Today I thought of you

Dear Joey,

There are days like today when the sun is warm and breeze is cool, I think of you.

The sweet smell of summer ending creeps through the crack in the window and a song that I usually avoid (because every word reminds me of the pain) plays on the radio and I find myself reaching for the knob to turn the volume up.

The melancholy tones fill my car. I sing along loud and off key.

I look in the rearview mirror and the little face looking back at me looks like you. Every smirk, every smile and that glimmer in his eyes reminds me of yours.

And I smile through the tears collecting behind my sunglasses.

I welcome days like these because I think of you.

 

Author: Lobogirl84

I am a mother. a storyteller, a photographer, a lover of light, beauty and love and currently deciding who I want to be when I grow up. I am on an endless journey of self-discovery...

Leave a Reply

